Governor O'Malley Appoints Small Business Commission


ANNAPOLIS, MD (January 28, 2011)– Governor Martin O’Malley today appointed 17 members to the Governor’s Commission on Small Business and addressed the Commission at its first meeting. The Governor’s Commission on Small Business was created by Executive Order 01.01.2010.13, signed by Governor O’Malley on June 3, and formed upon the recommendation of the Governor’s Task Force on Small Business.

“Our progress as a state depends on the prosperity of our small businesses,” said Governor O’Malley. “The Commission on Small Business will build on the progress we’ve made by evaluating and implementing the recommendations of the Small Business Task Force. I’d like thank to the men and women of the Commission for their talents and leadership, and for choosing to step up and serve the people of our state in the toughest of times. Together, we can expand opportunities for Maryland’s entrepreneurs.”

The Commission will provide a forum for small business to articulate and address barriers to business growth, recommend economic policy development measures to the Governor and General Assembly and oversee implementation of the Small Business Task Force recommendations. The Commission will meet at least quarterly and will provide regular review of Maryland Made Easy, a new initiative also unveiled by the Governor and including tangible improvements to specific State processes where business and government intersect.

Ackneil Muldrow II, CEO of Parker Muldrow & Associates, LLC, will chair the Commission. Mr. Muldrow previously served as President and CEO of the Development Credit Fund for more than 17 years. He is chairman, past president and CEO of the Baltimore Marketing Association and president of the Baltimore Efficiency and Economy Foundation. A graduate of North Carolina A&T State University, Mr. Muldrow is a resident of Baltimore City.

The Commission consists of the following members appointed by the Governor:

  • Karen Barbour is president of The Barbour Group LLC, an independent insurance agency. Ms. Barbour earned a B.A. from Loyola College and an M.B.A. from the University of Baltimore. She is a resident of Carroll County.
  • Barbara I. Berschler, Esq., is an attorney with Press, Potter & Dozier LLC. She earned a J.D. from Temple University James E. Beasley School of Law and a Master of Laws from Washington College of Law, American University. She is a resident of Montgomery County.
  • Marilyn Blandford is president and CEO of Miltec Corporation, a distributor and manufacturer of UV equipment and components. A resident of Queen Anne’s County, Ms. Blandford earned a B.A. from Florida State University.
  • Roland O. Campbell is president and CEO of ROC Incorporated. He has been a licensed real estate professional since 1982. He is a graduate of the Realtor’s Institute (GRI) and earned a certificate from Allan Berman Real Estate Institute of Johns Hopkins University. Mr. Campbell is a resident of Baltimore County.
  • Edward L. Dopkin is owner and president of The Classic Catering People and Miss Shirley’s Cafes and the owner of The Roland Park Bagel Co. and S’ghetti Eddie’s. Mr. Dopkin attended George Washington University, where he studied Marketing and Accounting.
  • Major James A. Dula USAF (Ret.) is executive director of Image Consulting Group. A 30-year veteran of the United States Air Force, Maj. Dula earned a masters degree from the University of Oklahoma. He is a resident of Prince George’s County.
  • Annie Geiermann is senior vice president and manager of Columbia Bank’s Community Business Banking Division. A resident of Howard County, she earned a B.A. from Goucher College.
  • Riche Holmes Grant, Esq., is president and chief academic officer of Innovative Study Techniques. A graduate of Brown University, she earned a J.D. from Columbia University. She is a resident of Prince George’s County.
  • Manuel Hidalgo is executive director of Latino Economic Development Corporation. He earned an M.A. from Florida International University and a Nonprofit Management Executive Certificate from Georgetown University. Mr. Hidalgo is a resident of Montgomery County.
  • Wonro Lee is president and CEO of JG Merchant Sales & Services and JG Telecommunications Inc. He earned a degree in Fine Arts from the University of Maryland. Mr. Lee is a resident of Montgomery County.
  • Randy McClement is co-owner and operator of The Market Bagel and Deli and Frederick’s Mayor. The Frederick resident is past president of the Frederick Co. Tourism Council, Chamber of Commerce and the Downtown Frederick Partnership.
  • Jorge A. Restrepo is principal researcher and CEO of EurekaFacts LLC. He earned a Bachelor’s degree from Universidad EAFIT and an M.G.A Marketing degree from the University of Maryland University College Graduate School of Management and Technology. He is a resident of Montgomery County.
  • Deborah Stallings is president and CEO of HR Anew. She chairs the Maryland Chamber of Commerce’s small business committee and represents Maryland on the President’s Commission on Small Business. The Howard County resident is pursuing a B.A. at the College of Notre Dame of Maryland.
  • Jay A. Steinmetz is CEO and founder of Barcoding Inc., a 37-employee Baltimore-based technology company. He earned a B.S. from the University of Arizona and is a resident of Baltimore City.
  • Wayne Strausburg is president of Hall Consulting and Management and the English Company, a restaurant and real estate investment company. A graduate of Loyola College, he earned an M.B.A. from Morgan State University. Mr. Strausburg is a resident of Wicomico County.
  • William L. Yerman, Esq., is a founding member of Real Estate Title and Escrow. He earned a B.B.A. from Emory University and a J.D. from The University of Maryland School of Law. He is a resident of Baltimore City.

Other members include Senator Barry Glassman, appointed by the President of the Senate Thomas V. Mike Miller and Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, appointed by the Speaker of the House Michael E. Busch.

Ex-officio members include the Secretary of Business and Economic Development, the Secretary of Housing and Community Development, the Secretary of General Services and the Secretary of the Governor’s Office of Minority Affairs.

Small Business Task Force Recommendations

For information on small business resources and assistance or the Governor’s Commission on Small Business, contact the Department of Business and Economic Development at 410-767-6300 or visit

Additional Press Releases

Office of Governor